Liveblogging the Jackson County Missouri Caucus

Throughout Saturday, 24 March 2012, I’m liveblogging the Jackson County, Missouri GOP caucus with reports from attendees. Keep checking back for updates! If you prefer, I’m also updating Twitter @lorienjohnson!

CONFIRMED: Paul wins majority of delegates in Jackson County, Missouri. Paul 80% Romney 20%!

03:31 PM CST – Beat Obama Slate wins 531 to 237 and wins Jackson County.

03:17 PM CST – Limited Paul supporters abstaining to fight the deal. Paul camp doesn’t believe a deal is necessary.

03:13 PM CST – CONFIRMED: Combined Paul/Romney slate proposed, Paul with overwhelming majority on the slate.

03:10 PM CST – CONFIRMED: Paul did not have majority. It was Deal or Nothing…

03:02 PM CST – Ron Paul Constitution slate withdrawn. Sounds like a deal in progress.

02:56 PM CST – Romney and Paul camps made deal to shut out Santorum camp, one person reports.

02:51 PM CST – Voting on Slates is next. Some people are leaving.

02:45 PM CST – Rules accepted, 589-100. Many have left according to some reports.

02:34 PM CST – Debate on rules closed, 581 to 204. Multiple Santorum people are trying to privately address Chair.

02:30 PM CST –  Attendees are reporting feeling like the Santorum crowd is deliberately drawing out the process.

02:14 PM CST –  Santorum and Gingrich supporters increasingly loud. They clearly lose every voice vote, but for fairness at their request the Chair has held standing votes. To ensure accuracy and fairness, Chair agreed all votes should and will now be strictly by Standing vote. Every motion.

02:11 PM CST – NAY on Proportional delegates, 411(yea) to 531 (nay).

02:00 PM CST – Loud Nay vote on Proportional delegates. Chair holds standing vote to be certain. @Rakundig reports that the Chair is being very fair.

01:56 PM CST@TracyWardForKC says: “Now voting on proportional slates out winner take all. This crowd is getting antsy.”

01:55 PM CST – Sounds like all of the campaigns are angling at the moment. No substantive news.

01:35 PM CST – Analysis from a Platte County resident and caucus organizer, Darrel Drumright: Each district has it’s own convention. If you live in the 5th district you would be nominated for delegate to the 5th district convention. If you lived in the 6th district you would vote for delegates to the 6th district convention. They should make a motion to vote on the stage convention delegates first and then divide by district. The caucus today votes for delegates for three different conventions. The 5th district convention, the 6th district convention and the MO state convention. All three send delegates to national.

01:29 PM CST – Some people are so angry that delegates might be divided that they are leaving.

01:21 PM CST – Mark Seitman (sp?) motions to amend rules to divide into 5th and 6th districts instead of voting as county.

01:15 PM CST – Rules Committee now reporting.

01:13 PM CST – All singing God Bless America while waiting for Rules Cmte.

01:08 PM CST – Motion made and passed to suspend the reading of the call to convention to save time.

01:05 PM CST – Munyan elected Secretary, 587 to Finch’s 281. Munyan is a GOP Committeeman and local attorney. Very honorable reputation, and I have met him and heard him speak. Good choice.

12:55 PM CST – Voting on Secretary. Had to iron out minor counting error. Good accountability!

12:51 PM CST – Voting still very slow, people are impatient. Downside to a big metro caucus!

12:37 PM CST – Chair doubling Tellers to increase speed. Secretary Nominees: Ralph Munyan & Jennifer Finch.

12:34 PM CST – Chair called order, appointing committees. Nominations coming in.

12:25 PM CST – To answer your questions, yes, Mark Anthony Jones supports Ron Paul. However, more importantly he is committed to following Robert’s Rules of Order and has met with Parliamentarians to learn the processes. He will honestly and honorably Chair as a neutral entity as required by Robert’s Rules.

12:19 PM CST – 10 minute Bathroom Break agreed amid some limited dispute.

12:16 PM CST – Mark Anthony Jones elected Chair by 596 to 374.

12:01 PM CST – Voting for Kraus for Chair is now being counted. Kraus is the Santorum Chair. This is Will Kraus: and

11:55 AM CST – Will Kraus’ motion was removed. Voting continued. Waiting for report on vote.

11:52 AM CST – 1 section being recounted. Will Kraus is angry and objecting. According to @rakundig, “He was objecting to some fool moving between sections while votes were being counted.”

11:41 AM CST – Voting for Chair… looks like Mark Anthony Jones may have it. Votes are STANDING votes, which is good for accountability.

11:35 AM CST – Kraus motioned for only 2 people to count votes in crowd over 1k. Crowd disapproved so strongly he withdrew the motion.

11:30 AM CST – Tellers elected for each presidential candidate. Aaron Dunn is the teller for Ron Paul.

11:26 AM CST – Nominees for Chair are introducing themselves.

11:21 AM CST – 834 attendees in 5th District, 178 in 6th District. Credentials Report passed. Now taking nominations for Chair.

11:13 AM CST – Still only a temporary Chair, Shirley Simmons. Waiting for Credentials Cmte to present report.

11:10 AM CST – Candidate Reps just finished speaking. Jason Greene gets huge applause for Paul.

10:32 AM CST – Drawing seating lines. Many more 5th district than 6th.

10:17 AM CST – Doors still not closed. Registration started 30 mins late so meeting will also be late.

09:19 AM CST – They’re up to 640 attendees in line now.

08:10 AM CST – Approximately 300 attendees in line.

Special thanks to Andrew, Rakudig, Claire, Tracy, and the many others whose reports made this liveblog possible!

If you enjoyed this post, please share to Twitter and Facebook and consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader. Thank you! - Lorien

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

33 Responses to “Liveblogging the Jackson County Missouri Caucus”